SalonEVO Magazine

Your home of hair, beauty, nails and more!

The Professional Beauty Association Reveals the 2023 North American Hairstyling Awards Finalists

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) is thrilled to announce the 34th annual North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA) finalists. NAHA is the most prestigious professional beauty competition in North America and honors the salon industry’s top artists who push the boundaries of skill and creativity. NAHA 2023 is no exception, with extraordinary collections ranging from edgy Avant Garde to fashion-forward Editorial to nuanced Texture.

“The 2023 North American Hairstyling Award finalists exemplify the pinnacle of excellence in the industry,” shares Nina Daily, PBA’s Executive Director. “Year after year, we continue to be amazed by the elevation of submissions demonstrated by these talented artists.”

To win a coveted NAHA award, artists submit their collections in fourteen creative and inspirational categories of hair, makeup, and education excellence. Development of these collections often takes months of envisioning, planning, and shooting.

Collections are judged anonymously in three rounds by a panel of esteemed experts in hairdressing and makeup artistry, and are scored based on technical skill, cohesiveness, and creativity.

The NAHA 2023 Finalists are:

Avant Garde:

  • Adrian Gutierrez
  • Anakin Chan
  • Ashley Jackson
  • Cassie Carey
  • David Barron

Barber of the Year:

  • Nieves Almaraz
  • Charles Robinson
  • Jamie DiGrazia
  • Cecilia Jimenez
  • Victor Hugo

Editorial Stylist of the Year:

  • Adrian Gutierrez
  • Jamie Wiley
  • Lisa Von Kurvink
  • Joan Novak
  • Timothy Cabell

Educator of the Year:

  • Nina Tulio
  • Elizabeth Faye
  • Rodrick Samuels
  • Angelica Prather
  • Keya Neal


  • Lindsey Olson
  • Nicole Pede
  • Lori Zabel
  • Greta Coston
  • Luis Gonzalez


  • George Garcia
  • Chrystofer Benson
  • Yuki Yasui
  • Brayden Pelletier
  • Nieves Almaraz

Hairstylist of the Year:

  • Julie Vriesinga
  • Frank Cini
  • Danielle Keasling
  • Keith Bryce
  • Brayden Pelletier

Inspiring Salon of the Year:

  • Prolific Styles of Art Beauty and Barber Salon
  • Hair is Happiness
  • Logan Parlor
  • Crawford Master Stylists Ltd.
  • Panache An Aveda Salon and Spa

Makeup Artist of the Year:

  • Breanne Gershon
  • Nohemi Capetillo
  • Isidro Valencia
  • Sam Watson
  • Mel Martinez

Master Hairstylist of the Year:

  • Allen Ruiz
  • Chris Baran
  • Ruth Roche
  • Anna Pacitto
  • Teresa Romero

Student Hairstylist of the Year:

  • Nicole Sherman
  • Cooper Brooks
  • Didem Gokturk
  • Destiny Johnson
  • Savanna Hoffman

Styling and Finishing:

  • Carlos Alvarez
  • Danielle Waterman
  • Jaimee Harris Smith
  • Kenneth Dawson
  • Caidy Brasure

Team of The Year:

  • Derrick Rutherford & Julio Rodriguez
  • Team Vortex: Jamie McDaniel, Joe Chesbro, Anne Chesbro, Laura Frazier, Manda Ziegelman and Suzanne Sturm.
  • JCPenney Salon Design Team: Jaimee Harris Smith, Brendnetta Ashley and Brittany Brown
  • Nurtur Aveda Institutes: Laura Vaughn, Taylor Fultz, Niki Stover, Erin Gates, Joseph Garcia, Marie Pannell-Biggs and Stephanie Huntsman
  • Hair Biz and Beyond: Laura Gunter, Anthony Negron, Galyna Poczciwinski, Stacy Anne and Danielle Keasling


  • Shannon King
  • Alexander Turnbull
  • Keith Bryce
  • Lukas Press
  • Caidy Brasure

The competition culminates in an industry-wide celebration of artistry at the NAHA ceremony, held in conjunction with Premiere Anaheim, on Sunday, April 2, 2023, in Anaheim, CA. The 2023 NAHA ceremony will feature artistic presentations by Ulta, Ashtae, CBC Collective, and Cassie Carey, the 2022 NAHA Hairstylist of the Year. Tickets for the 2023 ceremony are available at